How to Transfer Rhapsody Music to iTunes

Music purchased from Rhapsody is under DRM protection, which stops customers from playing the downloaded music with other incompatible devices like Apple iPod and Microsoft Zune. If you don’t continue to pay, you won’t keep the music when the subscription expires. As we all know, iPod is one of the most popular and successful MP3 players. iPod owners can purchase various music songs from iTunes Store and listen to them with their iPods. However, if you prefer Rhapsody and find some songs in Rhapsody that are unavailable in iTunes store, yet you do want to enjoy these songs with your new iPod, you are meeting the headache of Rhapsody being incompatible with iPod. So the following tutorial should be the solution.

The tools you will need:

TuneClone Audio Converter
Rhapsody Software
iPod
iTunes Library

1. Make settings in TuneClone Audio Converter

Download TuneClone (fully compatible with Windows XP and Windows Vista) from http://www.tuneclone.com and install it. After launching TuneClone, click the “Settings” button. In the pop-up dialog of “Options”, you can specify the “Output Folder”, “Output Filenames”, “Output Format” (here we choose MP3), etc. for the output files.

Tip: You can get the output protection removed MP3 music folder by clicking the “Folder” button after the whole burning and encoding process.

2. Create a new playlist in Rhapsody

In the center left panel of Rhapsody, navigate to “Playlist”. Then in the bottom left corner, click “New” to create a new playlist.

Or you can click “File” and select “New Playlist” to create a new playlist in Rhapsody.

Then, drag and drop the music you are ready to burn to the new playlist from Rhapsody Library.

3. Make CD burning settings in Rhapsody

Click “Tools” and select “Preference…” from the drop-down list. Click “CD Burning” from the list in the left panel. In the “CD Burner Options”, choose TuneClone virtual CD drive as preferred CD burner.

4. Start to burn

Click the “Burn CD” button to start the burning and encoding process.

After the burning gets started, TuneClone will automatically convert the music file to MP3. You can open the manager screen to show all the converted music files.

transfer Rhapsody music to iTunes library

The most important step is to choose the CD burner. Then the software can convert the music files automatically. It is exceedingly easy when you want to batch convert lots of files.

After you get the output MP3 files converted from the Rhapsody music playlist in your Rhapsody, you can now begin to transfer the MP3 files to your iPod with the sync of iTunes.

24 thoughts on “How to Transfer Rhapsody Music to iTunes

  1. I downloaded music from Rhapsody. For $15.00 per month i can download all the music, but must pay full price if I burn it. How do I put downloaded music on Ipod? or is the only way to do this requires burning a CD?

    • Download the rhapsody app to your iPod. Then type in your username and password, then your library will download. Once you have completed these steps you will be able to download all the music to your iPod.

  2. Yes I too agree with the question before me. Can you please explain because for me nothing worked. I did everything as instructed but I does not burn.

  3. tuneclone is not appearing as an option for preferred cd burner. any ideas why? my theory is that its not my default media player. how to i make it my default?

  4. i followed all of the steps and when i chose to burn the cd, the only option was to pay for it. is that supposed to happen?

  5. yes i am having the same problem as bryan. i select tuneclone for my burner, but when i choose to burn it, rhapsody says i have to pay to complete that task. help please =]

  6. so – the same thing. the little burner options , tune clone did NOT appear for me.
    what the eff’ is up.
    help me out.
    i uninstalled this. i have window’s 7.
    HELP. using rhapsody – it’s lame how you pay to listen to music (when i can just add to my already growing playlists on myspace ) and then you have to BUY the music . i feel it jipped me. I just want to convert all these songs to MP3. so i can add to my IPOD.
    good explanation – yes indeed.

  7. Yes, I agree to all the statements. I have Rhapsody to go, and Im not sure if I can burn songs, but I did have to problem before. After I burn the songs do I load them onto iTunes? Please be more detailed on how to do this!!!!

  8. I have tried the steps as listed above, but i keep getting the box that says purchase the songs. How do I get this to work?

  9. open up rhapsody and itunes. go to itunes and click file-add folder to library-music-rhapsody. then you will see the artists. dont click anything just click select folder. all of your songs should transfer. it worked for me but i used rhapsody with Vcast

  10. I just figured out how to do this.

    My Itunes died on my old computer and due to it being a piece of garbage, I lost all of my music. Then I realized that I had down loaded Rapsody a little while back and it had copied all of my music over to it.

    Long story short here is what you do.

    Open Rapsody, Plug a thumb drive into your computer, yes a thumb drive.

    Then you will see it pop up on the left hand side of the rapsody screen. Drag and drop your music in phases (depending on the size of the thumb drive.) Then open itunes, or take it to your new computer like i did and plug it in. Once you have itunes open on your old or new computer, click file- then add file or Library depending on how many files you have. You can browse through all of your files on the computer but select the thumb drive and open the music files on it.

    Itunes will convert the songs to Itunes format and you sir are done.

    Yes it is that stupid easy. I wrestled with how to recover the music I paid for without having to pay for it again.

    You owe me a cookie, all of you.

    E

  11. I need help with the cd burner options. the virtual cd burning isnt an option, why is that? And is there a way that I can do this without contacting the company because I’ve tried this in the past and it just wasted my time. It didnt help at all. Do you know how to solve my problem? And it says i have to pay to burn the cd, I thought this thing was so we didn’t have to pay???

  12. What if you don’t own any songs on Rhapsody ? I have a music subscription that I pay for per month and all the songs are free . But I guess that means that I don’t fully own any of those songs . I just got a Mac and an iTouch , but I really don’t want to pay $1.20 or whatever the price is per song when I’ve already got hundreds on Rhapsody . I’ve searched everywhere for how to accomplish downloading songs from Rhapsody to iTunes , but nothing will work ! Please help !
    Btw – the whole ” CD Burning ” thing , did not work because I do not own the songs .

  13. Pingback: How to convert iTunes protected AAC (M4P) to WAV « Convert DRM Protected iTunes M4P to MP3 (Windows and Mac)

Leave a Reply

